The Forest Preserve Friends Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation supports the facilities, programs, services, goals and mission of the Champaign County Forest Preserve District. In turn, it generates grant support and collaborative relationships with other agencies.

Your contributions to the Foundation support the projects and activities at the Champaign County Forest Preserve District. Whether helping to acquire land, maintain natural and recreational areas, provide educational experiences, or preserve the County's natural and cultural resources, your gift will touch the lives of generations to come.

2019 Initiatives

Willow Pond Restoration at Middle Fork River Forest Preserve


Kickapoo Rail Trail - Phase 2

From what we can tell, you are as excited as we are to have the Kickapoo Rail Trail open! Trail counters indicate that about 290 of you walked, ran, or rode on the trail each day throughout our warm fall season. We know that traffic on the trail will lighten as the temperature falls, but the work won’t stop as we look ahead to Phase Two.

We’ve gotten your feedback. You want benches, bike racks, and signs that tell you where to find ice cream and restrooms. And you want more trail. We do too. With your help, these things will come in 2018. Your gift to the KRT will add user amenities and will continue construction work on Champaign County’s Phase Two. You can also designate your gift to the trail efforts in Vermilion County by adding a note in the comment field on the online donation page.

See you on the KRT!

Lake of the Woods Peninsula project (partial OSLAD grant match)


Design plans for a Homer Lake Interpretive Center replacement


Botanical Garden Landscaping for the Pond/Waterfall project


Donate now

Donate Online

By Mail

Click here for a printable form (133kb pdf)

By Phone

(217) 586-3360

Board Members

  • Meredith Mills, Treasurer
  • Bob Espeseth, Secretary
  • Joe Lamb, Vice President
  • Dan Noel, President
  • Rod Beyers
  • Peg Busch
  • Roger Laramee
  • Sarah Livesay
  • Will Timmons
  • Jennifer Vallowe
  • Mary Ellen Wuellner, Executive Director CCFPD